Chocolate & French Earl Grey Tea-Cupcakes

Iced Chocolate and French Earl Grey Cupcakes

It has long been established that I am a fan, no in truth I am a chocolate fanatic.   My passion for chocolate is probably only culinarily equaled for my passion for a good cup of tea, hot tea that is.  Whilst I did group up in ‘The South’, I have never developed that passion so associated with the area for cold, ‘sweet tea’.  Hot tea on the other hand….

No, this simplifies what really was a long process of acquired appreciation for the steaming broth of  the camellia  plant.  Growing up, I couldn’t stand the stuff!  Whilst tea was not, ‘my cup of tea’ during this time, it was still associated with the happiest of memories.  Each morning my parents’ day began with my father making tea and bringing it to my mother in bed.  Through this simple yet powerful symbol I learned of love and of tea.

My appreciation for tea remained as an ideal, a physical representation of love in its simplistic form, until the day that changed my life.  It was a beautiful, bright sunshiny Sunday morning.  This was the day I drank my first cup of tea.  The beauty of story is, however, marred by the details which came to pass between waking and this late night cup of tea, for it was this day my mother died.

I don’t know whether it was my desire to be close to my mother who all of a sudden was no longer there, or simply my taste buds aligning to their proper understanding of this true brew.  Whatever the cause, my love for tea was established on that fateful day and has grown and developed into a passion.

My tea totelling has developed from a devotion to Darjeeling to an earnest for Earl Grey (which I still possess) to a fascination with French Earl Grey (From T2). With this note, my love for these little tea-cupcakes and in them the pairing of chocolate and French Earl Grey tea.

Earl Grey and Chocolate Cupcakes

  • 71G (5Tbsp) Unsalted Butter
  • 5Tbsp Vegetable OilChocolate and French Earl Grey Cupcake Ingredients
  • 7Tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 2/3C Water
  • 3Tbsp French Earl Grey Tea (T2)
  • 1 1/4C Flour
  • 1C + 2Tbsp Sugar
  • 3/4tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4tsp Salt
  • 1Egg (lightly beaten)
  • 1/3C Buttermilk
  • Preheat oven to 180C (350F), grease or line muffin tin, or oven safe espresso cupsPrepared Espresso Cups
  • Finely grind tea leaves using a mortar and pestleGrinding Tea in Mortar and Pestle
  • In a small pot combine butter, oil, cocoa and waterButter, Oil, Cocoa
  • Sift tea leaves into sauce pan, continuing to grind any leaves which remainSifting French Earl Grey Tea
  • Heat pot over medium heat till butter is melted and mixture is smooth
  • Remove from heat and allow to steep for 10 minutes
  • Meanwhile mix together flour, sugar, baking soda and salt
  • Add egg and buttermilk , stir until only just incorporatedButtermilk and Eggs Added to Dry Ingredients
  • Add chocolate mixture and once again stir until just combinedAdding Chocolate MixtureSpoon into prepared muffin tin or espresso cupsChocolate and French Earl Grey Tea Mixture in Espresso Cups
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes or until skewer inserted comes out cleanBaked Chocolate and French Earl Grey Tea CupcakesClose-up Chocolate and French Earl Grey Tea Cupcakes
  • Cool in tray for 10 minutes then transfer to wire rack
  • Cool completely before icing
  • Ice with Honey Lemon Buttercream FrostingIced Chocolate and French Earl Grey Tea CupcakesIced Chocolate and French Earl Grey Cupcakes

Enjoy!

Inspired By:Tart to Heart a fellow WordPress blogger

You Might Also Enjoy:

This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes / Cupcakes, Chocolate, Dessert, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate & French Earl Grey Tea-Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Lemon and Honey Buttercream Frosting | To Serve, With Love

Leave a Reply

